Learning Leaders’ Conference speakers

Published by on the 1 March 2018

The CAULLT-sponsored Learning Leaders in Higher Education Conference on 6 June and the Higher Education Quality Network Conference: Assessment, Integrity, Review Conference on 7 and 8 June  will be held at Pullman Melbourne on the Park. Registrations for both conferences are now open and a range of packages are available for one, two or three days.

Both conferences feature international and Australian speakers who are certain to stimulate thought-provoking discussion.

The Learning Leaders Conference will include the following speakers:

Associate Professor Alan Bain, Charles Sturt University. Alan is an international consultant on organizational change and improvement in Education. His most recent co-authored book the “Self-Organizing University” focuses on leadership strategy for learning and teaching in higher education.
Professor Elizabeth Johnson, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Learning and Teaching Futures, Deakin University. She has taught biochemistry in higher education for over 30 years and has led curriculum reform at discipline, faculty and institutional level. Liz trained as a plant biochemist completing a PhD at the University of Melbourne. Over the last decade she has shifted her research focus to the scholarship of learning and teaching.
Professor Sandra Jones, RMIT University, discipline expert and a leader and practitioner in leadership. Sandra is Professor of Employment Relations and the Director of the Centre for Business of Education Research in the School of Management at RMIT.
Dr Stephanie Marshall, is an internationally recognised scholar in leadership and was CEO of the former Higher Education Academy in the United Kingdom, now Advance Higher Education. Before joining the HEA, Stephanie was Director of Programs with the Leadership Foundation for Higher Education (LFHE). She developed the LFHE’s leadership activities from a single programme, led the Governor Development Programme, and developed the LFHE’s Professional Recognition Scheme.

The HEQN Conference: Assessment, Integrity, Review program will include:

Natasha Abrahams, National President, Council of Australian Postgraduate Associations.
Dr Simon Bedford, Wollongong University, Head of curriculum design and development, Wollongong University.
Professor Duncan Bentley, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) Swinburne University.
Associate Professor Tracey Bretag, Director: Office for Academic Integrity, University of South Australia.
Dr Sara Booth, Academic Lead, Peer Review Portal.
Sadie Heckenberg, President, National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Postgraduate Association.
Adjunct Professor Sally Kift, James Cook and La Trobe Universities and President, Australian Learning and Teaching Fellows.
Dr Thomas Lancaster, is an internationally recognised scholar for his work in contract cheating after coining the phrase in 2006.
Emeritus Professor Kwong Lee Dow, Patron of the HEQN.
Professor Nicolette Lee, Executive Director, Educational Partnerships and Quality, La Trobe University.
Professor Sheelagh Matear, Executive Director, Academic Quality Agency for New Zealand Universities.
Anthony McClaran, CEO, Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency.
Mark Pace, National President, National Union of Students.
Bijay Sapkota, President, Council of International Students Australia.
Dr Lesley Sefcik, Academic Integrity Advisor, Office of the Academic Registrar, Curtin University.
Ethan Taylor, National President, Union of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Students.

Further details will be released soon. The Learning Leaders Conference begins at 9am on 6 June and will conclude at 4.30pm.

The Integrity stream at the HEQN Conference will be held on 7 June and the Assessment and Review streams will be held on 8 June. Each day will begin at 9am. Sessions will conclude at 5pm on 7 June and at 3.30pm on 8 June.

You can register here 

Social Activities

A dinner is an optional extra on 6 June following the Learning Leaders Conference and an informal networking function will be held on the first day of the HEQN Conference on 7 June and is included in the registration fee.


Registrations open at 7.30am each day. The registration fee includes coffee and tea on arrival, morning and afternoon teas and a hearty working lunch at the Pullman Melbourne on the Park restaurant. Further details are available here.


Higher Ed Services has negotiated discounted rates for accommodation at the Pullman Melbourne on the Park. Click here for details.